What A Pain In The Neck-Living With Fibromyalgia & Chronic Fatigue

Have you ever had whiplash to your neck? Often you don’t feel anything at first,then you can’t turn your neck from side to side, read, drive or work. Imagine 3 in three years. Why does a doctor tell you years later that arthritis ends up in these and other injured areas? Is it like a hidden surprise?

When I meet people and we get on this subject I feel I have a lot to offer on it. My desire is to help by educating and relaying what has happened to me. Neck injuries are complicated because it affects so much of our body.Even TMJ can be a result of a neck injury. If you get in a car accident like I did,its easy to take the money and run.But your also signing off on any further medical bills and as I can attest, you just never know when they can appear and how severe they can be.

It was discovered after many,many, tests that I had nerve damage in my neck.Very hard to detect,and extremely painful. The doctor who discovered it froze the nerve in two locations after failed attempts to do trigger point injections. This lasted 4 years ,and after two new steroid injections on both sides of my neck ,they say they can burn the nerves now because the other procedure (freezing) they don’t do anymore.

Even after the last procedures it still will feel like a bee sting on my left shoulder-blade occasionally.   The doctors say I have facet disease in my neck so no procedure will cancel all the pain. I had a rumatologist tell me that they are finding that fibromyalgia stems from neck injuries in a lot of patients. Is that good news or just another bit of information we try to store as to the root cause of all our never-ending health issues. Most of us suffer  with migraine headaches as well as throbbing,tingling,and numb hands and feet. All of this can be attributed to neck injuries. There are other factors in our diseases like emotional trauma, but neck injuries are front and center in a lot of us.Please feel free to contact me thru this blog if you have any questions  about your neck injury, FM ,or Chronic Fatigue.

About fibromale

Im a 50yo male who is recently disabled. My goal in my "new life" is to share my experiences with everyone in hopes of helping ALL people with Fibromyalgia & Chronic fatigue. Its my understanding that 85% of people with Fibro are woman. I was diagnosed in 2009 after five years of every test know to man. I'm hoping thru regular posts,that people will comment & share their story.It can become a worldwide support group.
This entry was posted in Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What A Pain In The Neck-Living With Fibromyalgia & Chronic Fatigue

  1. Without a doubt this is a common physical cause of Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue. While there are emotional and chemical causes as well. Depending on the case all of the symptoms can be related to physical trauma. Undetected head and neck traumas can lead to brain stem tractioning and pressure that can lead to a host of different symptoms inculding those associated with FM and CFS. If you have never had a upper neck evaluation to determine if an Atlas misalignment is involved do yourself a favor and get that evaluated before having surgery or injections. Correcting the cause is always better than covering up the symptoms.

    The problem is not all chiropractors or medical doctors can identify these types of problems. And even if they are able to identify the problem…correcting the atlas misalignment is very difficult. Upper neck misalignments as small as 3/4 of a degree can be causing neurological problems. To correct this it requires a level of precision that very few doctors have been trained to properly do.

    You can find out more info about head and neck injuries, Fibromyalgia and upper cervical chiropractic at this link http://nuccadoctordavis.com/category/chronic-fatiguefibromyalgia/

    Dr. Davis

    • fibromale says:

      Hello Dr.Davis,
      Thanks for the reply.I have had several MRI’S on my neck.Back in 2004/2005 they tried a host of things to eliminate
      the tremendous pain and muscel spasms I was experiencing. I finally found a doctor who discovered that it was nerve
      damage that was the root of it all,as well as facet disease. He froze the nerves and it worked for a while.But when it came back
      the doctor who did the procedure had moved.The new injections did little to relieve the pain. Do you recomend I ask
      this doctor about an Atlas misaligm,ent? I did ask him about cervical stenosis,and he said it would have showed up on the MRI.
      We deal with a dizzying array of ailments with FM & Chronic fatigue, its like the appointments never end.
      Best,Donald Crete

  2. Pingback: 1: A Patient Describes her Chronic Neck Pain for 6-7 Yrs before seeing A Musculoskeletal Physician | Neck Pain Headache

Leave a comment