The Lumps & Bumps of Fibromyalgia

The location of the nine paired tender points ...

Image via Wikipedia

Upon my years of trying to learn all I can on this disease, this one surprised me. I have always had a bad lower back, and would often have these knots that were the size of a quarter to half-dollar. Some are quite painful,others not at all. I usually have 3 or 4 and others at varying places on my body.

There are doctors out there that directly associate these lumps & bumps with FM.They will actually do a process called mapping. An examination of these tender spots and swollen muscles.  If you get a doctor who actually knows about this ,(and we are not talking just about the tender point exam) I would hold on to that doctor.

From reading the book “What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Fibromyalgia”, there is an area on the left Thigh that will show up 100% of the time in a person with FM. The area will feel spasm, and very tender. I asked a local chiropractor if she had ever heard of “mapping” ,she replied “no I haven’t”. She was going to buy the book last I had heard. Someone who actually listened to their patient.

Massage therapy does little to dissipate these swollen,sore,spots. They seem to reappear for no reason.

I had an injection in my right thigh yesterday for a problem that I am told is unrelated to FM. A very painful condition that I am hoping will ease up a bit. So it is making this post very trying today. The humidity will be sky-high starting later today,and I can tell my fibrofog is starting to escalate.I seem to be finding,then losing just what I want to say. Thanks for reading what I could muster!

About fibromale

Im a 50yo male who is recently disabled. My goal in my "new life" is to share my experiences with everyone in hopes of helping ALL people with Fibromyalgia & Chronic fatigue. Its my understanding that 85% of people with Fibro are woman. I was diagnosed in 2009 after five years of every test know to man. I'm hoping thru regular posts,that people will comment & share their story.It can become a worldwide support group.
This entry was posted in Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Lumps & Bumps of Fibromyalgia

  1. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks a lot

Leave a comment