Off The Beaten Path – Living With FM & Chronic Fatigue

Laughing couple.

Image via Wikipedia

Today I want to go off the path a little bit and expand on a previous blog titled Failed Relationships. I  have been thinking a lot about how easy it is for a person to just throw away a relationship these days. I asked my therapist about when he was in school…..how many broken marriages ( kids without their mothers & fathers together) there was. Maybe a couple he said…..But now? I bet if you took a pole in today’s classrooms? More than half would be.  Why does this upset me? I think all the focus is on the negative. Its easier to punt,take a pass, cheat ,and just plain get out of a relationship. They say 85% of divorces are initiated by woman. I’m not taking sides here, but the statistics don’t lie. In the olden days I’m told, people (woman?) just put up with things. Is that really a good excuse? I can see if its verbal or  physical abuse, but just because we want to see “what else is out there” ,just doesn’t cut it with me.

We seem to have an excuse with our disease, but I still think things could be,and can be worked out.  I realize first hand the financial burden, the emotional burden,etc. that it puts on a relationship. But why doesn’t it pull us closer instead? Do we read and listen to the media too much? Do we see our friends having so much fun that we wish we could be them? Probably yes to both of those questions.  I just wish the media would talk about the success stories for once. I know they are out their also.

My story was this……I was just starting to feel bad in 2004.That was when my wife and I got together.In the span of five years, it was discovered I had nerve damage in my neck,sleep apnea, Fibromyalgia, Chronic Fatigue,severe migraines,and severe ostioarthrites.My two children were born,and I filed for disability. I’m tired just rethinking about it all. However my wife came to a few of the earlier appointments, there were many,many,she chose not to.The movie I rave about? www.invisiblethemovie.com ,she chose not to watch.The book I rave about…What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Fibromyalgia , she chose not to read. I don’t know about you people out there,but that does not elicit a relationship in harmony. A lot going on in five years? That I have no doubt,we had a lifetime of hurdles in that time period. But it goes back to what I was saying, you need a partner who accepts, and helps,and most of all understands. In that time I always tried to give all I had. I would still try to cook,clean,work,be a good husband and father.

We all need to take a step back,appreciate what we have in life. If your relationship is going well ,take the time to thank them for everything. If it’s not going well, I urge you to both get counseling, whether together or alone.  Our partners do have a lot going on themselves. Its a lot to absorb and deal with,living with someone who has FM and chronic fatigue. But isn’t it better together?

About fibromale

Im a 50yo male who is recently disabled. My goal in my "new life" is to share my experiences with everyone in hopes of helping ALL people with Fibromyalgia & Chronic fatigue. Its my understanding that 85% of people with Fibro are woman. I was diagnosed in 2009 after five years of every test know to man. I'm hoping thru regular posts,that people will comment & share their story.It can become a worldwide support group.
This entry was posted in Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Off The Beaten Path – Living With FM & Chronic Fatigue

  1. Aw, this was a really nice post. In concept I wish to put in writing like this moreover ? taking time and precise effort to make an excellent article? however what can I say? I procrastinate alot and certainly not appear to get one thing done.

  2. My Homepage says:

    Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a marvellous job! 424327

  3. Neil Musson says:

    Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. But think about if you added some great pictures or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could definitely be one of the best in its niche. Fantastic blog!

  4. cat treats says:

    I was suggested this blog by way of my cousin. I’m no longer certain whether or not this put up is written by him as nobody else realize such detailed about my trouble. You’re fantastic! Thanks! 553453

  5. I just now discovered your blog post and now I’m remember to start with followers. 751375

  6. Generally I do not read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very great post. 567716

  7. I like this web site so significantly, bookmarked . 968917

  8. Thank you for this amazing post! It has long been really valuable. I wish which you will carry on posting your expertise with us. 548708

  9. Taylor Lautner… By the way you might want to take a look at this cool website I found…… 168396

  10. I totally agree! I came over from google and am looking to subscribe. Where is your RSS feed? 971211

  11. hubpages.com says:

    What a lovely weblog. I’ll surely be back. Please preserve writing! 561049

  12. […]the time to read or visit the content or sites we have linked to below the[…]… 623585

  13. Great Tips says:

    Some truly amazing content material on this internet internet site , thankyou for contribution. 547995

  14. Greetings! This really is my very first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and let you know I genuinely enjoy reading by means of your weblog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with exactly the same topics? Thank you so significantly! 937403

  15. Aw, this was a extremely nice post. In thought I want to put in writing like this moreover ?taking time and actual effort to make a extremely great write-up?nevertheless what can I say?I procrastinate alot and definitely not appear to get one thing done. 637538

  16. I discovered your internet site internet site on google and check a couple of your early posts. Preserve inside the top notch operate. I just extra up your Feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking for toward reading far far more of your stuff afterwards!… 29090

  17. holy cow says:

    Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and superb design and style.

  18. whoa, this really is a actually excellent piece of details. I read about something like this before, this really is impressively excellent stuff. 317007

  19. Merely wanna state that this really is really beneficial , Thanks for taking your time to write this. 25695

  20. Couldn?t be developed any much better. Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this report to him. Pretty certain he will possess a great read. Thanks for sharing! 201507

  21. zwembroek says:

    its fantastic as your other articles : D, regards for posting . 2624

  22. Tatuaggi says:

    Stay up the good paintings! 85380

  23. As I web website possessor I believe the content matter here is rattling great , appreciate it for your efforts. You need to keep it up forever! Great Luck. 467066

  24. Yeah bookmaking this wasn’t a risky determination outstanding post! . 591455

  25. Wow, awesome blog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you made blogging look easy. The total look of your site is wonderful, let alone the content material! 443233

  26. I got what you intend,bookmarked , really decent internet web site . 461046

  27. issakar.com says:

    Excellently written article, doubts all bloggers offered the same content because you, the internet is a greater place. Please keep it up! 760049

  28. pest control says:

    of course like your web-site however you need to check the spelling on quite a few of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very bothersome to inform the reality however I’ll surely come back again. 761024

  29. Visit site says:

    Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone! 249084

  30. Music began playing any time I opened this web site, so frustrating! 224331

  31. I generally cant discover it in me to care enough to leaves a comment for articles on the web but this was really pretty great, thanks and keep it up, Ill check back once more 227556

  32. via says:

    There is visibly a bunch to know about this. I believe you produced various very good points in attributes also. 292920

  33. I likewise conceive so , perfectly written post! . 377087

  34. click here says:

    Bookmarked. Please also talk over with my site. 911053

  35. You really should take part in a contest for among the very best blogs on the internet. I will recommend this internet site! 756123

  36. I visited plenty of site but I believe this 1 contains something extra in it in it 445863

  37. that says:

    Outstanding read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing some research on that. And he really bought me lunch since I discovered it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! 409188

  38. I think this is one of the most significant info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers 547796

  39. Not long noticed concerning your internet internet site and are nonetheless already reading along. I assumed i’ll leave my initial comment. i do not verify what saying except that I’ve enjoyed reading. Good weblog. ill be bookmarking maintain visiting this internet internet site genuinely normally. 812294

  40. I discovered your blog internet website on bing and appearance several of your early posts. Preserve up the extremely great operate. I just now additional the RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking toward reading far much more on your part down the road!… 301673

  41. I’d need to speak to you here. Which is not some thing Which i do! I like reading an write-up that can make folks believe. Also, thank you for permitting me to comment! 416404

  42. mytatuaggi says:

    What a lovely weblog. I’ll surely be back once again. Please preserve writing! 425326

  43. issakar.com says:

    Just a smiling visitant here to share the enjoy (:, btw outstanding style . 617634

  44. Dude. You mind if I link to this post from my own web site? This really is just too awesome. 721093

  45. Totally composed written content material , thanks for details . 783712

  46. tatuaggi says:

    Thank you for sharing with us, I believe this site genuinely stands out : D. 737408

  47. Tatuaggi says:

    Hello! I’ve been reading your web website for a whilst now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the great work! 710508

  48. go says:

    dude this just inspired a post of my own, thanks 501987

  49. Some really nice stuff on this internet site , I enjoy it. 992939

  50. ghdflghkdfs says:

    I needed to thank you for this great read!! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I have got you book marked to look at new stuff you post…

Leave a comment